THE LONG ROAD HOME Finished

I did it.

Took me two months, but I finally finished this book. There are a few thoughts I’d like to share, because I have to say, this book was an incredible journey for me to write. With that being said, there were a lot of highs and lows creatively throughout this book.

The book’s currently in editing right now, which I’m very proud of. I got some feedback from an early reader today who said that they liked the book and felt the ending was “weird.” There is a reason I’m addressing this, and I’ll tell you why.

I love feedback. In fact, this person’s feedback is probably going to help improve the ending of the book a lot; that is, writing-wise. Do I regret the ending that I gave to the book? Of course not. Do I regret the decisions the characters make at the end? No. I wanted to write a book that was raw, honest, and powerful.

Granted, the ending, especially after the first draft, really needs some improvement. Believe me, first drafts are never pretty. There’s usually some cases of inconsistencies, or hell, even times where a character’s name changes from Clarice to Claire mid-book (yes, this happened in The Long Road Home, and the character’s name is now Claire). My point is, I appreciate my betas because they give me some input on things I may not catch myself, and this girl’s feedback will probably help the writing style of the ending a lot.

Will I change the ending?

No.

Will some fans want the ending to be rewritten?

Maybe. It all depends on the perspective, and that’s okay.

With Before I Break, I was concerned about the ending as well. Heck, I was so scared that I almost didn’t publish it. But I did and the reviews and feedback I’ve gotten in amazing. I don’t regret where my characters end up. They’re real, honest, living characters that deserve to face reality just as much as people do.

Not every story has a happily-ever-after. Life is not a fairy tale. Life’s a journey that needs to be walked, and the characters in The Long Road Home all face a dose of reality.

With that being said, I hope you all do, too.

With love,

Alec John Belle

2 thoughts on “THE LONG ROAD HOME Finished

  1. Hey Alec. I am glad you stuck with your book’s ending. Sometimes to write the story a book deserves we can’t give readers the ending they might want. That is taking power away from the story and your book’s voice. Kudos.

    Like

    • The main focus of my book was to be realistic and to have a realistic ending. Not everyone was going to get a happy ending, and I think readers may go in expecting that. Nonetheless, the reader gave me a 5 star review. I think she finally realized why I chose the ending I did, and was satisfied with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

