Book Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #3)

Words cannot describe how much I loved this book. At first I was weary, knowing that this book would be entirely different than the first two. It just had that feel to it.

Spoilers from the first two books ahead.

Retribution begins right after the ending of Evolution, where Mara has finally learned the truth about herself. Or so she thinks. Mara is losing her mind at Horizons, where she’s being placed on drugs that are meant to make her no longer able to have physical responses to her emotions. She can’t cry. She can’t hurt someone back who is hurting her. The idea in itself was interesting, and I couldn’t help but wonder where Hodkin was going to take the story.

This book was beautifully written, made me have a total feels-fest, and even managed to make me cry several times (which has not been happening as often in books these days, unfortunately). Michelle Hodkin takes everything you want, messes it up, and then brings it together at the end, weaving her way through an amazing final installment of a trilogy I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget.

And if that review makes this seem like a perfect conclusion, I’m here to tell you it was so, so close.

But it just barely missed its mark.

See, I kept expecting their to be some sort of twist ending, as it is a mystery and all, but the mystery seemed to fall through the floor and disappeared into some gaping black hole. There was no mystery, although it was attempted. The conclusion, while some of it was shocking, was mostly predictable. I called it from the very first book.

Whether this was the author’s intention, I’m unsure. Maybe it was never supposed to be a surprise in the first place, but when reading the first two books, I kept expecting something bigger. Something grander. A shock that would make me throw the book across the room.

It didn’t happen in Evolution, and it certainly didn’t happen with Retribution.

With that being said, as much as it pains me to do so, I can only give this book a 4/5 star. Despite my disappointment at the lack of mystery, it’s a beautiful story of love, betrayal, and most of all…

Retribution. 

Leave a Reply

