The Caitlyn Jenner Memes Aren’t Funny

Ever since Bruce Jenner publicly referred to herself as “Caitlyn Jenner”, memes have been circulating the internet. Many people think that these memes are harmless, or that they’re just “being funny”.  Let me show you a few examples of the memes I’ve seen.

Bruce Jenner's Cat

Let’s start off with the first thing that’s wrong with this picture:  It refers to Caitlyn as Bruce.  While you may not think this is a big deal, in truth, it is. Calling a trans person by the name they specifically chose NOT to have anymore is downright offensive, and if you think it’s not, you should educate yourself more on trans people.

Anyone remember the story of Leelah Alcorn?  I did a blog post on her a few months ago.  To make a long story short, she killed herself for a few reasons, one of which was that he parents refused to call her Leelah and wouldn’t refer to her as a “she”. They went out of their way to purposely call her a “he” and a “him” because it went against their religious beliefs.  It’s okay to believe in something, but when your child commits suicide, it’s no longer just a belief.  It’s a danger.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am a Christian myself, which is why I’m so open to admit the things we do wrong.  Was denying their child happiness worth death?  When you look at this meme, and you share this meme, you’re going against Caitlyn’s wishes and desires.  You’re denying her the right to be herself.  Because to you she’s still “Bruce”.

The meme is also offensive because it’s making a joke about transgender people.  It’s very similar to gay jokes, in a sense where they’re not really that funny.  Why do we need to make jokes about other people for being who they are?  Is this the type of society we want to be?  Transgender people are not here to be made fun of.

Let’s take a look at a few other examples of “funny” memes:

Caitlyn Jenner

Does this one really need an explanation?  I’m sure we’ve all seen this commercial, but when I look at this picture, I don’t find it at all amusing.  What’s amusing about it?  The fact that once again you’re making fun of a transgender person?  And for the record, as I said before, Caitlyn is not “a guy”.  She’s a female.  Saying she’s hideous and that she’s mean is just cruel.

Caitlyn Jenner

Here we go with the crude “humor”.  Once again I ask, “Why is this funny?”

Change is name to Caitlyn

When you look at these pictures, what do you see?  I see hate.  I see intolerance. I see ignorance.  I do not see humor in making fun of someone for who they are.

Think of all the LGBT lives that have been lost because of things like this.  And sure, you can ask, “Well, why would someone kill themselves over something like this?” I don’t know, maybe because they’re become the center of a joke that’s not funny.  People think of them as a joke.  People think they’re disgusting.  Sure, calling Caitlyn “Bruce” may not seem like a big deal to you, but remember that trans people are watching.  They are reading these posts and they’re seeing all the comments.

If you happen to be trans and reading this, I apologize for the amount of hate that the internet has allowed us to create.  Remember that you are not alone, and that there are people that do care about you and your wishes.  It’s okay to be you. Don’t ever let anyone make you think otherwise.

9 thoughts on “The Caitlyn Jenner Memes Aren’t Funny

  1. Thank you for this post.

    I grew up in ignorance and blind hostility about this subject matter, and I am grateful that life has seen to revise me. Surprisingly, some of my best reeducation came about from watching Star Trek as a child!

    The following quote is not entirely on point, especially in any suggestion that individuals need to be “saved,” LGBT or otherwise. But your piece reminded me of it nonetheless, and I hope it offers something here, particularly about compassion for the hateful. Although it speaks to the hated as well, it is the venomous individuals that I personally find difficulty in loving.

    “Only if we understand can we care.
    Only if we care will we help.
    Only if we help shall all be saved.”
    -Dr. Jane Goodall

    Like

    • Many people have a hard time understanding that their words hurt others. The things they do can hurt others, and as people, that’s not what we should be doing. Unfortunately, like you said, there’s some ignorance on the subject matter that needs to be brought to light. I just wanted people to realize that the memes and jokes are NOT as funny as they find them to be. Because who’s to say a transgender person wouldn’t look at those memes and just snap? Trans suicides are on the rise, and it doesn’t surprise me with stuff like this circulating the internet.

      I’m glad you’re able to see it for what it is. ❤

      Like

  2. The physical violence we do to one another is inexcusable. But verbal abuse can be played and replayed in the mind for the rest of a person’s lifetime , and in many ways is more toxic.

    This can all be so heavy and dark and must contribute to the suicidality. Perhaps we can recruit somebody who can bring an incisive wit to this subject matter, like Richard Pryor did to the experience of being black in the 1970s? I never enjoyed his humor, personally, but totally respected his wicked decapitation of bigotry. Maybe someine with more lighthearted humor?

    Namaste!

    Like

  3. Freedom of speech doesn’t mean people should be assholes. Yes, legally you can say whatever you want. But that doesn’t necessarily make it okay.

    Like

  4. Freedom of speech doesn’t mean people should be assholes. Yes, legally you can say whatever you want. But that doesn’t necessarily make it okay.

    Like

Comments are closed.