New Blog Coming: “Beyond The Scars”

Hi everyone!  I apologize for my absence lately.  Between editing my books and preparing them for republication, I have had so much going on, especially since I’m still a full-time student.

As you all know, I’m currently a blogger at the You Matter Blogger Council, which is basically a branch off of the National Suicide Prevention Hotline.  I’ve been trying to figure out some things I can do once I stop writing for them, and I came up with this idea that I’m so excited to share with you all.

A few years ago, I started a Facebook page called Beyond the Scars, a page in which people could reach out to me if they were in the middle of a crisis.  I wanted to do the best I could to help prevent suicide, because it is a topic very close to my heart.  I then unpublished the page because it wasn’t really going anywhere, and I needed some sort of outlet.

I don’t know why it took me so long to come up with this idea, but I decided I wanted to start an online blog used for suicide prevention.  Then I decided, why not have it be much broader?  Suicide isn’t the only thing young adults may be dealing with. Things like abuse, discovering sexuality, eating disorders, coming of age, applying for college, getting financial aid, overcoming illness, etc. are just to name a few.  I wanted to create a place for people to be able to share their stories.

Beyond the Scars is going to be my new blog.  Yes, I will still use this for book related things, so don’t worry.  Beyond the Scars will be a place where people can submit stories, poems, resources, blog posts, etc. for teenagers who are struggling.  With the blog, they will have the option to remain anonymous or use their names.  Obviously the rules will be more in depth once I create the blog, but I want YOU to know that submissions will be open.  It’s open to everyone and will give them an opportunity to share their stories.  All submissions will go through me, and edits may be made for grammatical and formatting purposes.

Please keep in mind that this blog will be about overcoming challenges.  It’ll be a place where people can know they’re not alone, and there will in fact be a resource page for things like that National Suicide Prevention Hotline and many more!

The website is here!  If it is unavailable right now, that means the site is currently being fixed up.

I just want to let you all know that I’m really excited about this.  The blog will be small at first, but I’m really proud of this project.  I hope to get submissions from people soon!  I’ll have details about that soon.

Leave a Reply

