Change is Coming

Change is coming, in case that wasn’t obvious by the title of this post. Why is change coming?, you may ask.  Well, both of my books just recently got accepted for publication by Booktrope.

I know, it’s not one of the Big 6, but it sure is a huge step toward it.  Booktrope allows me to choose my team (editors, book managers, cover designers, etc.) and we work together to reprint the books.  Now, what does this mean?  It means several things.

1.  Editing

One of the big differences you’ll notice is editing.  My first two books were not able to be professionally edited, but now they will, and this is a huge benefit to me.  I want what’s best for my books, and editing is, but I’ve never really had the money for it.  This is going to open the window for me to be able make my books the best they can be.

2.  Different Covers

This is something I can iffy about, but change is sometimes necessary.  I cannot guarantee that I will be able to keep the covers I have, and if I can’t, this means more change will be underway.  Honestly, though, change is sometimes good and for the better.  I’m going to trust that whatever comes from this will be better than I thought.  If you like the old covers and want the versions with those covers, I recommend buying the books while you can.

3.  Minor plot differences

The thing is, with editing comes minor plot changing.  I can 100% there will be at least one thing probably changed in the plots for both books by the time they are reprinted.  This is part of the author world and I am willing to accept whatever advice my editor gives me.  The main, overall plots will remain the same.

4.  Different prices

Booktrope has the right to set the book prices, I believe.  This means that the prices of the books may be different than what they are now, possibly a dollar or two more.  As of right now I don’t have much info but I am pretty sure they are going to change.

5.  Better books

The truth is, I can admit that my books aren’t perfect, which is why I am so willing to do this. I want my books to be the best that they can be, and I believe with Booktrope, I’ll be able to make that happen.  This isn’t about getting rich, because I know I won’t.  This is about doing what’s best for me, my books, and my readers.

I hope that you all stick around for the ride and see what’s to come. In the meantime, it’s time to celebrate that change that is coming. It’s going to be hard because I’ve done both of these books all by myself.  Yes, things will change, but it’s one I’m sure will benefit me in the long run.

Forbidden Darkness Cover1.3

Leave a Reply

