Animal by Nikki Rae, Blog Tour

Today’s the day that I get to unveil the cover of Nikki Rae’s new book, Animal, which releases February 28th!

Synopsis

Ava has spent her life running from the monsters that lurk in the shadows, always the prey. She finally thinks she can settle down, have a normal life, and work on not being so scared of the world around her. That is until she runs into her worst fear.

He has finally found the potential family he has always wanted. All he has to do is make his little bird sing. Will Ava escape with her humanity intact?

My Review

Ava is afraid of vampires.

That much was obvious within the first few pages of the book. I was a huge fan of Nikki Rae’s novella, The Donor, so when she was giving out copies to beta readers, I had to snag on up. I will admit, I have not read the Sunshine Series yet, though I’ve really wanted to.

This book is apparently a spin-off of Sunshine, but you wouldn’t know if you haven’t read Sunshine. This book can stand entirely by itself, and for that, I have to give Nikki props. Writing a spin-off can be difficult, especially if you’re trying to make it so that it can be read before or after reading the series that started it.

The story revolves around Ava, who has spent most of her list recently running from vampires. At first, you don’t really know why, but with Nikki Rae’s unique writing style, chapter layout, and story flow, you get to see bits of the past and of the present. Along with getting chapters told from the past and the present, you also get inside the head of a lot of the other characters in the novel, including Myles, Evan, and Toni (who I believe are also in the Sunshine series).

Besides the creative writing, the story itself was phenomenal. Nikki really knows how to capture your heart and pull you right into the story. Ava clearly suffers from an anxiety disorder, and has panic attacks multiple times throughout the book. For me, this just added a whole new realistic layer that I wasn’t expecting, although I should have after reading The Donor. As a sufferer of an anxiety disorder, I totally understood how Ava felt a majority of the book.

In this twisted and haunting tale, you really get to know each of these characters, their motives, why they are the way they are, and you come to love them. Even the main antagonist gave me some good feelings a few times, because this novel just goes to show you how some “evil” people may really be feeling.

All in all, this book was perfect and I couldn’t have asked for it to go any other way. I really look forward to reading more of Nikki’s work soon, and am silently praying that she writes another book that follows this.

***

Cover Reveal

Animal Cover

What can I say?  I absolutely LOVE this cover!

And below you can check out the trailer for the book, as well as a teaser photo!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pz6ub1Op734

Animal Teaser

Be sure to check out this book when it releases, because it is amazing!  I have no doubt that fans of vampires will enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

